Prep categories organize prep recipes by the type of action required to prepare them, such as thaw, bake, chop, or portion. Each prep recipe is assigned to a prep category when it is created or edited.
When printing prep sheets, recipes can be grouped by prep category or prep station. Grouping by prep category lists all recipes that require the same type of preparation together.
The Prep Categories tab is used to create and manage available categories. All locations share the same active prep categories, so any category added or updated is available at every location. The prep categories list includes default R365-created prep categories that can be used as-is, edited, or deleted as needed. These can be used as-is, edited, or deleted as needed.
Security
The following permissions are required to manage prep categories:
Prep Settings → Prep Categories →
View Prep Categories
Edit Prep Categories
Navigation
Prep Categories are managed from the Prep Settings page.
Navigation Steps
Open the Inventory application.
Expand Prep.
Select Prep sheets.
Click the gear button.
Navigate to the Prep Categories tab.

Create a Prep Category
To create a prep category, follow these steps:
Click steps to expand for additional information and images.
1) Click the Add Category button from either the categories list or the top right corner of the table.
This will open a new line in the prep categories grid.

2) Enter the name of the new category, and then click out of the field.

A confirmation message indicates that the prep category was saved.

3) Confirm that the new prep category is marked as Active so it is available for selection on prep recipes.

Delete a Prep Category
To delete a prep category, follow these steps:
Click steps to expand for additional information and images.
1) Locate the prep category that needs to be deleted.

2) Click the trash can button.

3) If necessary, confirm the deletion.
If the prep category has 0 recipes in use, it is deleted as soon as the button is clicked.
If the prep category has recipes in use, a confirmation prompt appears before the deletion completes.
If this was an error, click Cancel. If the prep category needs to be deleted, click Yes, Delete Anyway.

If the prep category being deleted is assigned to any recipes, once deleted, the prep category will be removed from the prep recipe record(s). A new prep category must be assigned to those recipes.
Activate/Deactivate a Prep Category
To be available for selection on a prep recipe record, a prep category must be marked as active. To activate or deactivate a prep category, switch its Active toggle on or off.

If the prep category being deactivated is assigned to any recipes, the deactivation must be confirmed. . Once deactivated, the prep category will be removed from the prep recipe record(s). Users will need to assign a new prep category to the recipe(s).
