--- title: "Mass Role Update" slug: "mass-role-update" description: "Assign or remove user roles, locations, and report roles across multiple users at once. Mass Role Update changes save automatically when applied." updated: 2026-07-06T16:05:07Z published: 2026-07-16T08:00:00Z canonical: "docs.restaurant365.com/mass-role-update" stale: true --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.restaurant365.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Mass Role Update Mass Role Update can be used to update multiple user roles, user locations, and report roles for system users in a single place. --- ## Security Accessing Mass Role Update requires the following permission: - Admin → Users → Edit Users in Bulk > [!WARNING] > **To enable Edit Users in Bulk**, the **Edit Users** permission is also required: > > - If **Edit Users in Bulk** is enabled *without* **Edit Users**, it will automatically be enabled. > - If **Edit Users** is *disabled* , **Edit Users in Bulk** will also automatically be disabled. > - Roles that had **Edit Users** at the time this feature was enabled are automatically granted **Edit Users in Bulk**. Users & Security Limits Users who have permissions related to user management, including creating and editing user roles, permissions, assigned locations, and report roles, can only edit within their own access level. Learn more about [user editing restrictions and access levels](https://docs.restaurant365.com/docs/manage-access-to-security-and-permissions). API Managed UsersFor [API-managed users,](/doc/docs/api-managed-users) editability is controlled by the setting on the [API User Permissions tab](/doc/docs/api-user-permissions-tab) of the [Security & Permissions page.](/doc/docs/security-permissions-overview-security) When this setting is disabled, API-managed user records are read-only and cannot be edited. --- ## Navigation ****Navigation Steps**** 1. Open the **Admin** application. 2. Expand the **Users & Security** category. 3. Click **Mass Role Update.** ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/5c9d1111-0c69-4e96-8910-d7f2750fdc9d/Images/Documentation/image-KVBBP5RL.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-28T14%3A18%3A10Z&se=2026-10-28T15%3A18%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=nnZ5B8AKs8ipHlFE31fmiJ8hNKZ1vSa3fSzzCOWCJpM%3D) ****Search**** Navigate to pages with the [R365 global search bar](/doc/docs/r365-search): 1. Enter all or part of the **page name** in the R365 global search bar. 2. Select the page from the results list. > Only enabled pages can be searched for. If the desired page is not enabled, contact your CSM for assistance. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/5c9d1111-0c69-4e96-8910-d7f2750fdc9d/Images/Documentation/image-1745007955784.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-28T14%3A18%3A10Z&se=2026-10-28T15%3A18%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=nnZ5B8AKs8ipHlFE31fmiJ8hNKZ1vSa3fSzzCOWCJpM%3D) --- ## Mass Role Update Window ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/5c9d1111-0c69-4e96-8910-d7f2750fdc9d/Images/Documentation/image-F29A4D47.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-28T14%3A18%3A10Z&se=2026-10-28T15%3A18%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=nnZ5B8AKs8ipHlFE31fmiJ8hNKZ1vSa3fSzzCOWCJpM%3D) | | Button/Field | Description | | --- | --- | --- | | **1** | Security Type | Sets the security type for the dropdown field. Options include: - User Roles - User Locations > Only users that have their Locations on their User records set to 'All Locations' or 'Specific Locations' will be included in this section - Report Roles | | **2** | Select Drop-down | Filters the user list to roles, locations, or report roles. When a selection is made in the 'Select Drop-down' field, two grids will populate the bottom half of the screen for users who do and do not have the selection assigned to them. | | **3** | Users Without | Users that **do not** have the selected user role/user location/report role assigned to them. To provide additional users access, click the name of the users in the **Users without** grid and their names will shift over to the **Users with** grid. Reverse this process for any users who need to have their access removed. Repeat until all users have their security restrictions updated. Any updates made will be automatically saved. | | **4** | Users With | Users that **do** have the selected user role/user location/report role assigned to them. To provide additional users access, click the name of the users in the **Users without** grid and their names will shift over to the **Users with** grid. Reverse this process for any users who need to have their access removed. Repeat until all users have their security restrictions updated. Any updates made will be automatically saved. | Access rights granted to users or user roles that dictate what actions they can perform within the system.