--- title: "Inactivate or Delete GL Accounts" slug: "delete-gl-accounts" description: "Inactivate GL accounts with no transactions by renaming with 'DO NOT USE' and enabling Subtotal-Disable Entry, Restricted Access, and Control Account." updated: 2026-04-16T17:54:07Z published: 2026-04-16T17:54:07Z canonical: "docs.restaurant365.com/delete-gl-accounts" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.restaurant365.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Inactivate or Delete GL Accounts GL Accounts that have been created, but have not been used in transactions or assigned as defaults in R365 can be deleted. GL accounts that have transactions recorded against GL Accounts or that have been assigned as defaults anywhere in R365 **cannot be deleted.** Transactions include, but are not limited to: - [Paycheck Runs](/doc/docs/paycheck-runs) - [Budgets](/doc/docs/budgets) - [AP Transactions](/doc/docs/ap-transactions) - [AR Transactions](/doc/docs/ar-transactions) - [Journal Entries](/doc/docs/journal-entries) When a GL Account cannot be deleted but is no longer in use, users can restrict the GL Account to prevent further use as a way to inactivate the GL Account. --- ## Delete the GL Account GL accounts that have been created, but not used, can be deleted. If transactions have been recorded against a GL or if the GL account has been assigned as a default account anywhere in R365, the account cannot be deleted. Instead, it should be [inactivated](/doc/docs/delete-gl-accounts#mark-the-account-as-inactive). To delete a GL account, follow these steps. *Click steps to expand for additional information and images.* ****1)** In the accounting application, under General Ledger, click **GL Accounts.**** ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/5c9d1111-0c69-4e96-8910-d7f2750fdc9d/Images/Documentation/image-00FKY3N9.png) ****2)** Double click in the **GL Account row** to open the record.** ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/5c9d1111-0c69-4e96-8910-d7f2750fdc9d/Images/Documentation/image-KW7ECV0X.png) ****3)** Hover over **save** then select **delete.**** > [!NOTE] > If the account has been used in transactions, paycheck runs, the Mapping tool, or is set as a default, an error will display when attempting to delete it. Users can either unassociate the transactions with the GL Account, remove defaults and try again or mark the account inactive instead. Marking an account inactive is recommended when preserving past transactions while preventing new activity. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/5c9d1111-0c69-4e96-8910-d7f2750fdc9d/Images/Documentation/image-YA7EITQC.png) --- ## Restrict or Inactivate a GL Account > [!NOTE] > **Note About POS Mappings** > > GL accounts used in the [Mapping tool](/doc/docs/pos-mapping-tool) **cannot** be inactivated. To inactivate, first remove the account from all active mappings in the Mapping Tool. If an account has transaction activity or is set as a default, users can restrict the account for future use as a way to inactivate it. This option preserves transaction history while preventing new activity. There is not a designated ‘Inactive’ checkbox for GL accounts, but usage can be restricted by adjusting specific settings. To limit the use of GL account, follow these steps on the [GL Account record](/doc/docs/gl-account-record): 1. Rename the GL account to include ‘DO NOT USE’ to indicate it should not longer be applied to transactions. 2. Enable **Subtotal -Disable Entry** on the GL [Account record](/doc/docs/gl-account-record) to prevent the account from use in AP transactions. 3. Enable **Restricted Access - Usage** to ensure restricted users cannot select the account in Paid Outs or on Daily Sales Summaries. 4. Enable **Control Account - Prevent Manual Journal Entries** to remove the account from the lookup selector when creating journal entries. 5. Save the changes made to the GL Account record. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/5c9d1111-0c69-4e96-8910-d7f2750fdc9d/Images/Documentation/image-J5EO1ODK.png) --- ## Merge GL Accounts GL Accounts cannot be merged in R365 due to the transactions that are connected to them. However, transactions can be adjusted from one account to the other so that only one account is used. Transactions recorded to a GL Account, can be viewed in the **Transactions tab** on the [GL Account record](/doc/docs/gl-account-record). Each transaction recorded to the account will need to be edited so that they are no longer recorded to the GL Account. > [!NOTE] > Approved [transactions may need to be unapproved](/doc/docs/unapprove-a-transaction) in order to be edited. If transactions are in a closed period, a [prior period may need to be opened](https://docs.restaurant365.com/docs/closing-a-period#reopen-a-closed-period) to make adjustments. Once all transactions have been removed from the account, and if it is not set as the default account or used in paycheck runs, then the [account can be deleted](/doc/docs/delete-gl-accounts#delete-the-gl-account). If the account cannot be deleted, users may choose to r[estrict further use or inactive it.](/doc/docs/delete-gl-accounts#mark-the-account-as-inactive)